TAG: “BOOK CREATURES OF THE NIGHT”

I saw a thing floating around on Youtube. It’s a tag, for favorite instances of things in books.
I don’t post videos on Youtube.
But I do post on blogs.
And I do like books. In fact, I like books A LOT.
So here goes.

BOOK CREATURES OF THE NIGHT:

night

Vampires: No one reading this is allowed to judge this book by its name. I’m just saying. Right now. Vampire Academy, by Richelle Mead. [insert quick rant here about how the word ‘Vampire’ completely ruins the title of this book,like it does for many books, even though some *cough* *Twilight* deserve it, and about how utterly fantastic this series actually is, especially book three forwards] And, since there are three types of vampire in these books, I’m going to cheat a little bit and name TWO vampires! No wait, three. And the Spanish Inquisition while I’m at it (joking, they’re not really vampires, high-necked red capes aside). Mason Ashford, who is a half-vampire, is my first choice. He’s smarter than a lot of the other characters give him credit for, he’s funny, and he’s witty. And yeah, technically a vampire. In this series, half-vamps count. However, since I do NOT approve of what happens to him in the end, I demand a second choice, and since I’m already breaking rules by doing this with written words instead of on video, I am granting myself the object of my demand, who is also a half-vampire from this series, and that would be Rose Hathaway. She’s clever, stubborn to the point of idiocy, and will risk just about anything to save her best friend… which is probably a good thing, since it’s her job to protect Lissa at all costs.

VA

Dhampirs aren’t true vampires, you say?
Fine, then. Arianna, from Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy trilogy. In a world of characters who each have their own (occasionally very) annoying traits, prickly Arianna might be the most endearing. Which is weird, considering she hates the main character at first. You know what? I hated Evelyn at first too, so maybe that’s why.

paranormalcy

Werewolves: REMUS LUPIN, from Harry Potter, which is by the lovely Joann Katherine Rowling, though I don’t think anyone needed me to tell them that! I want Lupin to be my teacher. Although I don’t know why we would need a Defense Agains the Dark Arts teacher at Westminster… Maybe that’ll be a Jan-term option for next year? I wouldn’t complain.Prisoner_of_Azkaban_cover

Zombies: I don’t read much in the way of zombie books. So my options for this one are pretty much limited to the books of that category that I have read. Which is, in turn, pretty much limited to The Forest of Hands and Teeth, by Carrie Ryan. I didn’t ADORE this book, the way that I did many of those that I’m naming in this post. But I did legitimately like it. So I’ll go with that. And the character for this would have to be… probably (spoiler alert) Gabrielle. She’s a mystery, and honestly, more of a plot device than a character, but I’m definitely not saying Travis. He’s… meh. Okay.

Forest_Hands_Teeth_hb_cover

Ghosts: Silas, from Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book. (yeah, I’m pretty sure he’s not a vampire, regardless of what the internet seems to want to tell me). If he is indeed a vampire, then I guess this defaults to Elizabeth Hempstock, also from The Graveyard Book, mostly because I would like to point out that she shares both a name with one of the main characters in The Ocean at the End of the Lane (Lettie would be a nickname for Elizabeth, right?), and Lettie’s kind of magical-ish, and Elizabeth was falsely accused of being a witch… and anyway, Lettie and Elizabeth, whether they’re secretly the same character or not, also share a last name with Daisy Hempstock, who gets married to Dunstan Thorn in Stardust, also by Neil Gaiman, and Stardust takes place a very long time before Ocean, which I think takes place before Graveyard. So by referencing Graveyard, I can plausibly-ish reference three Gaiman books at once, which is ALWAYS a plus in my book. Heh. Geddit? Book? And I’m talking about books?

details_Graveyard         oceanstardust-book

 

I also wanted to give this to Hector Bowen, from Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, but I’m not sure he’s actually a ghost…

Anyway. Onwards.

Witch/Warlock/Spellcaster: This one undoubtedly goes to the characters of the Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss. I wanted to give it to Simmon. I really wanted to. Simmon is one of my two favorite characters in the book– my favorite being Auri– and he has been a book-crush of mine ever since I read the book. However. Devi is simply straight-up baddassery in its purest form, which happens to be female and magical and a little bit unstable and also pure academic genius.

notwA strong second choice here, from a different book, would be Tsukiko, from The Night Circus (Morgenstern). She might be my favorite character, in a book that is FILLED with my favorite characters. That said, pretty much any character from that book is my favorite character. So.tnc

A third choice here would be Belgarion, from the Belgariad series. Or possibly Pol. Pol is great. But I think I have to restrict myself to only two in this one… sorry.

belgariad

Fairies/Fae: I could conceivably have given this designation to a lot of characters, between Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy books, and the Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas. It could also go to Blue, from Faerie Wars, by Herbie Brennan. I could also make a serious case for Auri, from The Name of the Wind, but I think that that one MIGHT be cheating. Just a little. So it’s a tie between Aelin Ashryver Galathynius, from Throne of Glass, and Blue.    throne of glassfaerie

Demons: I don’t read many books with demons in them. Demonkind, sure. There’s one book. Brave Story. By Miyuki Miyabe. In which case, this goes to the Lady Onba, because she’s terrifying but also adorable, and you can’t help but love her as a character while simultaneously be really, really repulsed. And that’s what makes her memorable. That’s why she’s even on this list.
bravestory

Angels: Neil Gaiman strikes again (and Terry Pratchet strikes, too, because they co-wrote this book) with Aziraphale, from Good Omens (recently made into a radio production, which was pretty great, and if you read and liked the book, you’ll like the radio show. Terry and Neil make cameo appearances. It’s wonderful). Aziraphale is an angel who sometimes makes the wrong choices, and then feels bad about it. The whole point is that he’s definitely not infallible. He’s very, very fallible. But he’s also wise, and on the much older side of things, and a little bit outdated, much the way that an angel should be. He’s kind of a lot like Giles, from “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”, in pretty much all of these respects. Not that Giles is an angel. Anyways. Next category.

 GoodOmens_UnabridgedCD_1185501006

Aliens: Daemon Black, from the Lux series, by Jennifer L. Armentrout. No question about that, not at all (unless we’re counting Pernese dragons as aliens, which I guess technically they are, in which case it would be Canth, for reasons, but…)Daemon has his issues, and starts out as a moody, smart-aleck-y not-very-nice person. But as the series progresses… He stays that way, but we the readers discover his sweet side as Katy, the main character, does. It’s like meeting a real person. You get to know them better, but that doesn’t change the way that they are. And it doesn’t necessarily forgive it. Daemon makes mistakes, colossally idiotic mistakes, stupid hormonal-teenage-boy-with-a-combo-of-testosterone-AND-alien-superpowers mistakes. And sometimes that really screws life up for every character in there. But he’s also a person, and he knows he’s making these mistakes. And yeah. Between the genuine character development, and the witty dialogue… He makes the cut. Undoubtedly.lux

Superpowered humans: I’m not sure how much I like this particular one. What defines “superhero?” What defines “human,” in bookworld? *sigh* whatever. It goes to Emma, from Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Really, it goes to just about every character in Miss Peregrine’s, including the TERRIFYING wights (not so sure about hollowgasts. Also not so sure about the second wight we actually meet. I don’t like him much as a character. But Golan? Pardon the language, but… Hell, yes).

miss peregrine

Also… Do Elantrians count? From Elantris? By Brandon Sanderson? They’re magical-ish… But only ish. Eh, I don’t know. But this book is one of my all-time favorites, and the cover looks cool… so I’m putting it on here.

elantris

I really want to mention Graceling, by Kristen Cashore, too. I think Katsa is a decent contender for this one. Maybe Po as well. And Fox. And you know what? Even Leck is a good CHARACTER. Not saying much for his personality, but still.graceling

Descendants of the gods: I’ve actually got three for this one, two being PG 13 versions, and one being a very not PG 13 version. The first is Annabeth Chase, from Percy Jackson (but not really Heroes of Olympus). She’s smart and generally sassy/badass, from age 7 onwards. Love her.

The_titan's_curse

The second for this is…basically any of the characters in the Kushiel’s Legacy series, by Jacqueline Carey                      (either the Phedre trilogy or the Imriel trilogy. I’m not such a fan of Moirin’s books). I don’t think Joscelin is actually descended from a god, but he’s probably my favorite character… SPOILER ALERT Hyacinthe practically IS a god, so I don’t know if he counts… Phedre, Imriel, and Melisande are amazing. Kushiel’s Dart and Kushiel’s Scions. They’re amazing. I LOVE THESE BOOKS I LOVE THESE BOOKS I LOVE THESE BOOKS. That said, there’s definitely a “squick” factor in that the sex/violence can be a bit gratuitous. They’re definitely not for everyone. But I fell in love with the storyline and the characters, and I just kept going, and I’m very glad I did.
kushiel

And then you get Option Three. Fat Charlie Nancy, from Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman (Most people who know me know that I pretty much love everything of his that I have read. Heck, you can probably tell that from this post). Fat Charlie is not a perfect character, the way that a lot of protagonists, or characters in general, often seem to be. He’s got his social issues (he occasionally tries to eat wax fruit. Whoops). But that’s what makes us feel for him. The whole book is about his figuring out where he belongs, and how best to tread the line of absurdity, which is really what Neil Gaiman is all about, which is why I love him and his work so much.

anansi

Devils: Oh, this one is easy. So, so easy. Lain Coubert, from La Sombra del Viento, which is my favorite book in Spanish, and I LOVE IT SO MUCH. i love it enough that I have read it in both English and Spanish, and I have quotes from it written on my walls, and it just says SO MUCH about books, and the way that it’s possible for people to feel about them, and the way that I feel about them, and… I should stop gushing now, and actually talk about the devil, shouldn’t I?
Lain Coubert is actually a character from the book that the book is about. It’s not his real name. I can’t say a whole lot more than that… but his story is harsh and painful and also incredibly compelling, and is probably the main reason I love the book as much as I do.

sombra del viento

I wish I had more space on here for the protagonists, or for the regular humans, or for the mythical creatures. Maybe I’ll do one of those at some point. But for now, I have over 1900 words of text in here and I should probably stop, and go read something, because I would happily spend pretty much all of my time doing exactly that.

Leave a Reply

