It’s NaNo Time!!!!

nanocrest

(this is the official NaNo crest)

As much as one of my former writing teachers probably wants to kill me for the number of exclamation points I just used in the title, I’m okay with having used them. They’re basically emoticons, and I just used four of them, because I’m four times as excited as usual.

While a lot of people I know spend the day after Halloween feeling fat, or slightly hungover, or just sleeping in, I spent it completely rejuvenated and in a really, really good mood.

And no, that is not just because I finally got a decent night’s sleep for once in my life.

It’s because the day after Halloween is November 1st, which is arguably my favorite day of the year.

November 1st brings a lot of my favorite parts of life together.

Writers, all working hard to do what we love for a whole month, giving us reasons to talk to each other when we might otherwise not.

Community, whether that be online or in person.

TEA, because who on earth can write without tea?

And finally, I don’t have an excuse not to write.

That’s right, folks, NaNoWriMo is here! (look, there’s another exclamation point!)

For those who don’t know National Novel Writing Month, abbreviated to NaNoWriMo, takes place over the course of November. Over 30,000 writers across the globe engage in a challenge to write a 50,000 word (minimum) novel over the course of 30 days. No revision. No prologues or chapters or passages written before midnight between October and November.

I stayed up last night to start writing at midnight, and I’m glad I did. I have a story, that story is going to take at least 50,000 words to tell, and I have a month to write it in.

NaNo time is my favorite time of the year.

Now_Typewriter_01bClean

It’s going to be especially interesting this year, because I won’t be writing on my own. I’ve done NaNo three times this year. One of those times turned into Touchstones, the novel I am publishing this month (Oh look at that, another reason to love November). However, I have never done NaNo with a direct community. This year, though, a few of my good friends at school are doing NaNo, and I actually registered on the NaNoWriMo site, which I had not done before. Additionally, I found out when the public library near me is doing “write-ins”, which are basically a couple of hours when a huge number of writers sit there scribbling or typing and making our wrists hurt, and not saying anything to each other. Sometimes two or three people pose a question to the group, and there is a lot of humming and hoing, before a resolution is reached. It is a community, and while I have been peripherally involved, this will be my first time being what I call experienced, and getting to intentionally hang out with writers as crazy as me.

nanowrimo_logov101

For the next four weeks, my wrists are going to be in continuous agony. I’m going to spend all of the time that I’m not doing homework or sports on writing. I’m probably going to be a tiny bit stressed out, because I get that way whenever I’m interrupted while trying to write, if I’m on a creative roll, and I’m actually getting stuff done.

And I’m going to be absolutely blissful doing so.

For those of you who may be doing NaNo, or NaPo (poetry), or NaPl (playwriting), have fun, and write on!

eat-sleep-write-nanowrimo-L-juKxg5

One thought on “It’s NaNo Time!!!!

  1. Pingback: 5 Things to Consider Before You NaNo | Memories on a Page

Leave a Reply

