I Wrote A Book

The title pretty much says it all. I wrote a book.

It isn’t edited yet. In fact, I have not revised a single word of it since I started writing in November. But there it is. A little over four hundred pages long. 176, 760 words long. The working title is the Pursuit of Clarity. I might stick with that, I might not.

I have been working on this every single day for seven months, and it is finally done.

It’s hard work, writing something this long. In fact, I’m not sure that it’s coherent. It probably isn’t. But that’s what editing is for!

Some people have been asking me about the editing process. Here is a rough breakdown of it:

I will spend this weekend just revising the whole story, getting rid of plotlines that never go anywhere and adding connections to the ones that are really convoluted. Basically I am going to make sure that the story makes sense to people who aren’t me.

Then, I’m going to share it with my family. My parents are writers. My brother’s a journalist. They know what they’re talking about when it comes to “how do we make this better than it is already?”, “What does this really mean?”, “this doesn’t make sense,” and “Okay, you’ve got this, now what are you going to do?”

After that, I’m going to share it with a small selection of friends and family. Maybe ten or fifteen people. These will be my beta readers, who will do the same thing but on a larger scale, thinking in terms of the big ideas instead of the itty-bitty little pieces.

When I get that back, I will have ARC’s made. These copies will go out to a slightly wider group of people as well as to some well-established authors and reviewers who may or may not give quotes for the back cover or shout-outs in reviews.

After that, I’m not totally sure where I’m going, but I know I’m going somewhere. There are local bookstores, the wild world of the internet, and about ten gazillion other options.

For those of you who have asked, I will be publishing under my own name—sort of. This book will be published under the name Maxxe Riann, which is my real first name, and then my middle name in place of surname. I made this decision because yes, my book is me. But no, my book is not all of me. I’m still a student, and I don’t want something that I wrote over the course of freshman year and the summer after that to dictate everything about me for the next who-even-knows-how-long.

This has definitely been a journey, and it’s been a really fun one. I love writing, and writing something this long was a big stretch for me, but it reinforced just why I love writing. I can get outside of my own head and stay me at the same time. It’s like reading, except a little bit more agonizing, and I know a lot more about the characters. I know the main story, sure, but I also know the details about where everyone else comes from, which is something that I sometimes find lacking in books written by other people.

g-pen-writing-on-paper

 

I realize that my book is not necessarily a masterpiece. It may not even be anything special. But it is a book. And I wrote it. And I am so happy right now it kind of hurts.

 

fin

Leave a Reply

